scanning old pictures

December 14, 2005 at 11:09 pm (Uncategorized)

I have a slew of old pictures (1910s-present) of my maternal grandmother and her family. I have finally begun scanning them. I started a wordpress blog to display the pics that I uploaded to a geocities account, but the pictures stopped displaying. I decided to just put them directly in flickr. I’m glad I did because it displays so much more easily. I’m scanning them as 300 dpi TIFFs but it is quickly eating up my free space. I think I’ll have to go pro to fit everything I’d like to have.

grandma betty carr mccrady

At work I helped move our digitized historic photographs to a new system (CONTENTdm) in 2004/2005. There was some discussion recently on the CONTENTdm listserv because librarians are very interested in applying some ‘Web 2.0’ features (like tagging) to photos. I like the flexibility that tagging allows. While it is not as perfect as official subject headings, in some cases it may be more useful because it is “real” language which people use day-to-day.

3 Comments

  1. detail here said,

    Hi, I do think this is a great website. I stumbledupon
    it ;) I will revisit yet again since i have saved as a favorite
    it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and continue to
    help others.

  2. Kina said,

    Post writing is also a excitement, if you be acquainted
    with after that you can write or else it is complicated to
    write.

  3. 5.1 surround sound speaker said,

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve truly loved surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing on your feed and
    I hope you write once more soon!

    A blog page regarding technological know-how: 5.1 surround sound speaker

Leave a Reply

