reading for pleasure

July 17, 2007 at 8:47 pm (reading social networking 2.0)

I just heard about All Consuming from the Librarian in Black. I gotta admit, I like it. It’s easy sign up, pretty simple to use, and will hopefully help keep me on my reading jag.

I was a voracious reader as a child. Our house was full of books and we often visited the library. I always knew I wanted to be a librarian. But through all of the required readings in undergrad and graduate school, I either forgot about, or simply didn’t have time for, reading for pleasure. But not only do I always listen to an audiobook on my (blessedly short) work commute, I’ve also read several books in the past month.

It’s been a beautiful homecoming! Reading, oh, how I missed thee!

Now my only problem is that reading in bed is not very comfortable. I bought a lovely recliner last year and it has sat empty ever since. (Well, one of the cats does enjoy it….) I hope to gather the energy to haul that thing up the stairs so I have somewhere comfortable in my room to read. Next up: adjustable floor lamp.

Leave a Reply

