improvement

August 30, 2007 at 1:31 pm (library, mpow, teaching, work)

I feel like I am getting better at teaching every semester. I learn ways to tweak the assignments for the results I’m looking for, find material that helps illustrate a point, and how to make the class more organized – both for the students and for me! I’ve just agreed to possibly teach through fall 08.

I am also really pleased with the development of my “day job” (regular job? real job?) at the library. I have been fortunate over my tenure here to have bosses who support me, and allow me to develop my positions according to what I think needs to be done. Working with patrons and technology has always been interesting to me, and I’ve been able to utilize my passions for these in each of my positions. My current job is a wonderful fit – great hours (with flexibility), fantastic boss!, varied coworkers, and I get to manage the desk. There are no rules about the department since it’s brand new and I enjoy making things work as smoothly as possible.

I just wish I had more time for one-on-one training day-to-day with my co-workers. Though I will get plenty of that starting in September when we roll out our 2.0 curriculum, I’ll be staffing an open lab twice a week to work with people and answer questions.

1 Comment

  1. Kay said,

    I’m looking forward to you Flickr GODFO too!, when is that ?

Leave a Reply

