My dad would have been 69 today.

December 11, 2007 at 11:39 am (dad death grief loss)

Today is my dad’s birthday. It has been almost 4 years since he died and I miss him terribly. Remembering him and talking about it helps, but losing a parent is the hardest thing that has ever happened to me.


dad trash stache
Originally uploaded by webchicken

I love this picture. The xmas tree was up, and Bunny had baby chub going on. I hope my dad wouldn’t mind that I’m calling this his “trash stache”; I don’t think he would. He didn’t have it very long.


family 1979
Originally uploaded by webchicken

The whole fam! I love this picture because 1. we all look like dorks, and 2. I got to keep and play with the tiny elephant toy I brought to the studio. Liz (Bunny) was trying to take it away but was denied (note sad face). She always got what she wanted, even if it was mine, so I felt like I won something, even though it was already mine.

6 Comments

  1. Ian said,

    Dang.

    Gives a parent pause, you know?

    Hey, Empress of the World is a great book. Is Battle in that book? She’s cool.

  2. Heidi said,

    What cool family pictures! I agree with Ian.

  3. library chicken said,

    Yes, Ian, it’s a love story – Nic & Battle. I am listening to the podcast read by Sara Ryan, the author. It’s awesome. I’m on the last installation and sad it’s over. Now I guess I can read Rules for Hearts!

  4. Heather said,

    Many virtual hugs to you, Chicken.

  5. Steve said,

    Glad I got to meet him a couple times. I love how he made you guys sing a song if you wanted something passed to you at the dinner table. His silliness lives on…

  6. Kay said,

    I’m thinking about ya, lil ‘shon

Leave a Reply

